Quick answer: ETH Zurich publishes these English requirements on its official pages (checked October 27, 2026). Master's programmes: band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale. Bachelor's programmes: no TOEFL required.
TOEFL requirements at ETH Zurich, program by program
| Program | Old scale (0 to 120) | New scale (1 to 6) | Section minimums | IELTS | MyBest | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Master's programmes | 100 | 5.0 | None stated | 7.0 | Not stated | Official page |
| Bachelor's programmes | Not required | Not required | None stated | Not stated | Not stated | Official page |
Checked on each official page on October 27, 2026. Old scale: TOEFL iBT tests taken before January 21, 2026. New scale: tests taken from that date.
Master's programmes
“TOEFL iBT, TOEFL iBT® Home Edition, (Test of English as a Foreign Language) 5.0 (exams taken after 21 January 2026) 100 (exams taken before 21 January 2026) [table flattened]”
No section minimums are set for TOEFL (IELTS needs 7.0 with at least 6.0 in each section). The certificate must be no more than two years old and submitted by the application deadline, or the application is rejected on formal grounds. Exempt if your whole bachelor's was taught in English, confirmed by the university.
Bachelor's programmes
“The main teaching language in all Bachelor’s degree programmes is German. However, some individual courses may be conducted in English or French. Prospective Bachelor’s students must satisfy our language requirements to be admitted. This may mean submitting a certificate of proficiency in German.”
ETH bachelor's degrees are taught mainly in German, so admission asks for German, not an English test; no TOEFL score is set.
What else ETH Zurich says about English tests
- ETH Zurich's TOEFL institution code is 9038; ETH verifies scores through the ETS online verification system. (source)
- TOEFL iBT Home Edition is accepted for master's applications. (source)
- TOEFL, IELTS and C1 Advanced certificates must be no more than two years old. (source)
- A missing, invalid or insufficient language certificate leads to rejection on formal grounds; a certificate cannot be submitted after the application deadline. (source)
How the new 1 to 6 scale applies to ETH Zurich
Since January 21, 2026, TOEFL iBT scores are reported in bands from 1 to 6. Each band covers a range of old scores, so the same old minimum can sit anywhere inside a band.
- For Master's programmes, ETH Zurich asks for 100 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 100 falls in band 5.0 (which starts at 95; CEFR C1). ETH Zurich itself publishes band 5.0, which matches.
| Band | Old score (from) | CEFR |
|---|---|---|
| 6.0 | 114 and above | C2 |
| 5.5 | 107 and above | C1 |
| 5.0 | 95 and above | C1 |
| 4.5 | 86 and above | B2 |
| 4.0 | 72 and above | B2 |
| 3.5 | 58 and above | B1 |
Source: ETS score scale update. This is the ETS comparison, not a university requirement. Convert your own scores with our TOEFL score converter.
What score should you aim for?
Our advice (not an official ETH Zurich rule): treat the published number as a floor. Aim half a band above the minimum for your program, so for a band 5.0 requirement plan for 5.5 on your practice tests, so one weaker section on test day does not take your overall score under the line. Check section minimums too: an overall band can hide a low Speaking or Writing score.
ETH Zurich compared with similar universities
| University | Program | Requirement |
|---|---|---|
| MIT | Undergraduate (first-year) admissions | band 5.0 or 90 on the old scale |
| Yale | Yale College (undergraduate) | recommended band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale |
| Cornell | Undergraduate admissions | band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale |
All universities: TOEFL requirements by university.
Prefer a teacher? Epic Exam Prep, the team behind PrepDrills, has taught TOEFL courses since 2010, one to one or in small groups.
By Jaclyn Caruana, MBA, co-founder of Epic Exam Prep. Requirements change: always confirm on the official pages linked above before you apply.