Quick answer: LSE publishes these English requirements on its official pages (checked October 27, 2026). Undergraduate (standard): band 5.5 or 100 on the old scale. Graduate, Standard level (most master's programmes, incl. MPhil/PhD Statistics): band 5.5 or 100 on the old scale. Graduate, Higher level: band 5.5 or 100 on the old scale. Graduate, Law programmes (all Law Department programmes): band 5.5 or 109 on the old scale.
TOEFL requirements at LSE, program by program
| Program | Old scale (0 to 120) | New scale (1 to 6) | Section minimums | IELTS | MyBest | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate (standard) | 100 | 5.5 | Old 0-120 scale: Writing 27, Reading 25, Listening 24, Speaking 24. New 1-6 scale: 5 in each section | 7.0 | Not stated | Official page |
| Graduate, Standard level (most master's programmes, incl. MPhil/PhD Statistics) | 100 | 5.5 | Old 0-120 scale: Reading 23, Listening 22, Writing 24, Speaking 22. New 1-6 scale: Reading 5, Listening 5, Writing 5, Speaking 4.5 | 7.0 | Not stated | Official page |
| Graduate, Higher level | 100 | 5.5 | Old 0-120 scale: Reading 25, Listening 22, Writing 24, Speaking 22. New 1-6 scale: Reading 5, Listening 5, Writing 5, Speaking 4.5 | 7.0 | Not stated | Official page |
| Graduate, Law programmes (all Law Department programmes) | 109 | 5.5 | Old 0-120 scale: Reading 25, Listening 24, Writing 27, Speaking 27. New 1-6 scale: Reading 5, Listening 5, Writing 5.5, Speaking 5.5 | 7.5 | Not stated | Official page |
Checked on each official page on October 27, 2026. Old scale: TOEFL iBT tests taken before January 21, 2026. New scale: tests taken from that date.
Undergraduate (standard)
“TOEFL iBT (including Home and Paper Editions) 100 overall , with a minimum of: 27 in Writing 25 in Reading 24 in Listening 24 in Speaking (in one exam sitting only) *Updated scale (tests from January 2026)* 5.5 overall , with a minimum of: 5 in Writing 5 in Reading 5 in Listening 5 in Speaking (in one exam sitting only)”
LSE publishes one undergraduate TOEFL level. All scores must come from one sitting and the test must be taken within two years of 1 September of the entry year. IELTS needs 7.0 overall and 7.0 in each component. Nationals of Canada or UKVI majority English-speaking countries may be exempt.
Graduate, Standard level (most master's programmes, incl. MPhil/PhD Statistics)
“A. Standard (including MPhil/PhD Statistics) ... TOEFL iBT (including Home and Paper Editions) 100 23 22 24 22 TOEFL iBT (including Home and Paper Editions) (updated scale) 5.5 5 5 5 4.5 [table flattened; columns: Overall, Reading, Listening, Writing, Speaking]”
Requirements for 2027/8 entry. Each programme page states which level applies. Tests must be less than two years old on 1 October 2027. IELTS needs 7.0 overall with 6.5 in each component. Selectors may require a higher score.
Graduate, Higher level
“B. Higher ... TOEFL iBT (including Home and Paper Editions) 100 25 22 24 22 TOEFL iBT (including Home and Paper Editions) (updated scale) 5.5 5 5 5 4.5 [table flattened; columns: Overall, Reading, Listening, Writing, Speaking]”
Same totals as Standard; only the old-scale Reading minimum is higher (25 instead of 23). IELTS needs 7.0 overall with 7.0 in Reading and 6.5 elsewhere. LSE also has a Research level (old scale Writing 27, new scale Writing 5.5) for most MPhil/PhD programmes.
Graduate, Law programmes (all Law Department programmes)
“D. Law programmes - all programmes in the Law Department, including MPhil/PhD Law ... TOEFL iBT (including Home and Paper Editions) 109 25 24 27 27 TOEFL iBT (including Home and Paper Editions) (updated scale) 5.5 5 5 5.5 5.5 [table flattened; columns: Overall, Reading, Listening, Writing, Speaking]”
IELTS needs 7.5 overall with 7.0 in each component. Tests must be less than two years old on 1 October 2027.
What else LSE says about English tests
- LSE accepts the TOEFL iBT including the Home and Paper Editions, for both undergraduate and graduate entry. (source)
- Undergraduate TOEFL scores must come from one sitting and be taken within two years of 1 September of the year of entry. (source)
- Graduate English tests must be less than two years old on 1 October 2027 for 2027/8 entry; LSE expects the required level at a single sitting of the test. (source)
- LSE notes that UKVI guidelines require students entering the UK to have an English qualification evidencing all four skills (reading, writing, speaking and listening) unless they are from a majority English-speaking country. (source)
- Other accepted tests include IELTS Academic (including online) and PTE Academic taken in person only; graduate applicants unable to take a preferred test may ask to use Duolingo or IELTS Indicator plus an LSE Language Centre Assessment. (source)
How the new 1 to 6 scale applies to LSE
Since January 21, 2026, TOEFL iBT scores are reported in bands from 1 to 6. Each band covers a range of old scores, so the same old minimum can sit anywhere inside a band.
- For Undergraduate (standard), LSE asks for 100 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 100 falls in band 5.0 (which starts at 95; CEFR C1). LSE itself publishes band 5.5, half a band or more above that, so plan for 5.5.
- For Graduate, Standard level (most master's programmes, incl. MPhil/PhD Statistics), LSE asks for 100 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 100 falls in band 5.0 (which starts at 95; CEFR C1). LSE itself publishes band 5.5, half a band or more above that, so plan for 5.5.
- For Graduate, Higher level, LSE asks for 100 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 100 falls in band 5.0 (which starts at 95; CEFR C1). LSE itself publishes band 5.5, half a band or more above that, so plan for 5.5.
- For Graduate, Law programmes (all Law Department programmes), LSE asks for 109 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 109 falls in band 5.5 (which starts at 107; CEFR C1). LSE itself publishes band 5.5, which matches.
| Band | Old score (from) | CEFR |
|---|---|---|
| 6.0 | 114 and above | C2 |
| 5.5 | 107 and above | C1 |
| 5.0 | 95 and above | C1 |
| 4.5 | 86 and above | B2 |
| 4.0 | 72 and above | B2 |
| 3.5 | 58 and above | B1 |
Source: ETS score scale update. This is the ETS comparison, not a university requirement. Convert your own scores with our TOEFL score converter.
What score should you aim for?
Our advice (not an official LSE rule): treat the published number as a floor. Aim half a band above the minimum for your program, so for a band 5.5 requirement plan for 6.0 on your practice tests, so one weaker section on test day does not take your overall score under the line. Check section minimums too: an overall band can hide a low Speaking or Writing score.
LSE compared with similar universities
| University | Program | Requirement |
|---|---|---|
| Cambridge | Undergraduate | TOEFL not accepted |
| Edinburgh | Undergraduate (standard, e.g. LLB Law, 2027 entry) | band 4.5 or 92 on the old scale |
| King's | Undergraduate (Band B, most faculties) | band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale |
All universities: TOEFL requirements by university.
Prefer a teacher? Epic Exam Prep, the team behind PrepDrills, has taught TOEFL courses since 2010, one to one or in small groups.
By Jaclyn Caruana, MBA, co-founder of Epic Exam Prep. Requirements change: always confirm on the official pages linked above before you apply.