TOEFL requirements · UC Berkeley · Checked October 27, 2026

TOEFL score for UC Berkeley 2026: requirements by program

What University of California, Berkeley publishes about the TOEFL iBT, on the old 0 to 120 scale and the new 1 to 6 bands, with the official wording and a link to every source.

Undergraduate admission (international): band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale · Graduate Division (university-wide minimum): band 5.0 or 90 on the old scale · Full-time MBA: band 5.0 or 90 on the old scale

Quick answer: UC Berkeley publishes these English requirements on its official pages (checked October 27, 2026). Undergraduate admission (international): band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale. Graduate Division (university-wide minimum): band 5.0 or 90 on the old scale. Full-time MBA: band 5.0 or 90 on the old scale.

TOEFL requirements at UC Berkeley, program by program

ProgramOld scale (0 to 120)New scale (1 to 6)Section minimumsIELTSMyBestSource
Undergraduate admission (international)904.5None stated6.5Not statedOfficial page
Graduate Division (university-wide minimum)905.0New 1-6 scale: Speaking 4.5 and Writing 4.5 minimum (tests on or after Jan 21, 2026); no section minimums stated for 0-120 tests7Not acceptedOfficial page
Full-time MBA905.0New 1-6 scale: Speaking 4.5 and Writing 4.5 minimum7Not statedOfficial page

Checked on each official page on October 27, 2026. Old scale: TOEFL iBT tests taken before January 21, 2026. New scale: tests taken from that date.

Undergraduate admission (international)

Band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale

“English Proficiency Exams and Minimum Score Requirements Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) with a minimum score of 90/4.5 or better”

The page writes "90/4.5" without naming the scales; 90 is on the 0-120 scale and 4.5 on the 1-6 scale. Three or more years of English as the language of instruction also satisfies the requirement; mixed language of instruction does not. IELTS 6.5; Duolingo 115.

Read it on the official page

Graduate Division (university-wide minimum)

Band 5.0 or 90 on the old scale

“Minimum required scores for admissions starting Fall 2027: Tests taken from June 1, 2025 to January 20, 2026: 90 minimum total score Tests taken on or after January 21, 2026: 5 minimum total score, with 4.5 minimum Speaking and Writing section scores.”

Departments may require higher scores. For Fall 2027, tests taken before June 1, 2025 are not accepted. TOEFL ITP and My Best Scores are not accepted. IELTS: 7 overall, with 6.5 minimum Speaking and Writing for tests on or after Jan 21, 2026; Duolingo is not accepted.

Read it on the official page

Full-time MBA

Band 5.0 or 90 on the old scale

“TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) : Your most recent score must be at least 5, with minimum speaking and writing section scores of 4.5, on a scale of 6.0 for the Internet-based test (iBT). For the former scoring scale, your most recent score must be at least 90 for the Internet-based test (iBT), at least 230 for the computer-based test (CBT), or at least 570 for the paper and pencil test (PBT).”

Your most recent score is the one that counts. For Fall 2027, only official scores from exams taken on or after June 1, 2025 are accepted. IELTS: 7 overall with 6.5 in Speaking and Writing; Haas says TOEFL is preferred.

Read it on the official page

What else UC Berkeley says about English tests

  • UC Berkeley's TOEFL institution code is 4833 for undergraduate and graduate admissions. Haas full-time MBA applicants add department code 02 (Graduate Business Organization). (source)
  • UC Berkeley undergraduate applicants must satisfy English proficiency by January 31; updated scores can be submitted through the UC application. (source)
  • Other English tests for Berkeley undergraduates: IELTS 6.5, Duolingo English Test 115; AP, IB, ACT ELA (24) and SAT Writing and Language (31) scores can also satisfy the requirement. (source)
  • Berkeley's Graduate Division accepts the TOEFL iBT and iBT Home Edition; it does not accept Duolingo, TOEFL ITP, My Best Scores, IELTS Indicator or IELTS One Test Retake. (source)
  • Berkeley graduate exemption: a degree from a recognized institution in a country where English is the primary language of daily life and instruction, a degree from an accredited US institution, or at least one year of full-time coursework with grades of B or better at an accredited US institution. (source)

How the new 1 to 6 scale applies to UC Berkeley

Since January 21, 2026, TOEFL iBT scores are reported in bands from 1 to 6. Each band covers a range of old scores, so the same old minimum can sit anywhere inside a band.

  • For Undergraduate admission (international), UC Berkeley asks for 90 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 90 falls in band 4.5 (which starts at 86; CEFR B2). UC Berkeley itself publishes band 4.5, which matches.
  • For Graduate Division (university-wide minimum), UC Berkeley asks for 90 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 90 falls in band 4.5 (which starts at 86; CEFR B2). UC Berkeley itself publishes band 5.0, half a band or more above that, so plan for 5.0.
  • For Full-time MBA, UC Berkeley asks for 90 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 90 falls in band 4.5 (which starts at 86; CEFR B2). UC Berkeley itself publishes band 5.0, half a band or more above that, so plan for 5.0.
BandOld score (from)CEFR
6.0114 and aboveC2
5.5107 and aboveC1
5.095 and aboveC1
4.586 and aboveB2
4.072 and aboveB2
3.558 and aboveB1

Source: ETS score scale update. This is the ETS comparison, not a university requirement. Convert your own scores with our TOEFL score converter.

What score should you aim for?

Our advice (not an official UC Berkeley rule): treat the published number as a floor. Aim half a band above the minimum for your program, so for a band 5.0 requirement plan for 5.5 on your practice tests, so one weaker section on test day does not take your overall score under the line. Check section minimums too: an overall band can hide a low Speaking or Writing score.

UC Berkeley compared with similar universities

UniversityProgramRequirement
MITUndergraduate (first-year) admissionsband 5.0 or 90 on the old scale
YaleYale College (undergraduate)recommended band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale
CornellUndergraduate admissionsband 5.0 or 100 on the old scale
PennUndergraduate admissionsrecommended band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale
UCLAUndergraduate admissionrecommended band 5.0 or Above 100 on the old scale

All universities: TOEFL requirements by university.

Prefer a teacher? Epic Exam Prep, the team behind PrepDrills, has taught TOEFL courses since 2010, one to one or in small groups.

By Jaclyn Caruana, MBA, co-founder of Epic Exam Prep. Requirements change: always confirm on the official pages linked above before you apply.

TOEFL for UC Berkeley: frequently asked questions

What TOEFL score does UC Berkeley require?

Undergraduate admission (international): band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale. Graduate Division (university-wide minimum): band 5.0 or 90 on the old scale. Full-time MBA: band 5.0 or 90 on the old scale. Checked on the official pages on October 27, 2026.

Does UC Berkeley accept the new 1 to 6 TOEFL scores?

For Undergraduate admission (international), UC Berkeley publishes a minimum of band 4.5 for tests taken from January 21, 2026. For Graduate Division (university-wide minimum), UC Berkeley publishes a minimum of band 5.0 for tests taken from January 21, 2026. For Full-time MBA, UC Berkeley publishes a minimum of band 5.0 for tests taken from January 21, 2026.

Does UC Berkeley accept TOEFL MyBest scores?

Graduate Division (university-wide minimum): MyBest not accepted.

Can I send IELTS instead of TOEFL to UC Berkeley?

Undergraduate admission (international): IELTS 6.5 is listed as an alternative. Graduate Division (university-wide minimum): IELTS 7 is listed as an alternative. Full-time MBA: IELTS 7 is listed as an alternative.

What TOEFL score should I aim for at UC Berkeley?

Our advice is to aim half a band above the published minimum. For a band 5.0 requirement, that means practicing toward 5.5.