Quick answer: BU publishes these English requirements on its official pages (checked October 27, 2026). Undergraduate admission (international): recommended band 5.0 or 90 to 100 on the old scale. Full-Time MBA: recommended band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale.
TOEFL requirements at BU, program by program
| Program | Old scale (0 to 120) | New scale (1 to 6) | Section minimums | IELTS | MyBest | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate admission (international) | 90 to 100 | 5.0 (recommended) | Old 0-120 scale: 20 in each section (competitive benchmark); new scale: component scores reviewed for consistency, no figure given | 7.0 | Not stated | Official page |
| Full-Time MBA | 90 (recommended) | 4.5 (recommended) | None stated | Not stated | Not stated | Official page |
Checked on each official page on October 27, 2026. Old scale: TOEFL iBT tests taken before January 21, 2026. New scale: tests taken from that date.
Undergraduate admission (international)
“Students who are most competitive for admission will have a composite score of at least 90-100 and minimum scores of 20 in each section. ... For the new TOEFL iBT score reports beginning January 21, 2026, students who are most competitive for admission will have a total/overall score of 5.0 or higher.”
A TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo score is required if your first language is not English, but BU gives competitive ranges, not a hard cutoff. On the 0-120 scale BU says 'at least 90-100'; 90 is the low end of that range. IELTS 7 satisfies the requirement for all programs. Home Edition accepted.
Full-Time MBA
“TOEFL: BU’s TOEFL code is 3087. A minimum score of 90 on the iBT is recommended. For tests scored on the new “1-6” scale introduced on January 21, 2026, a minimum total score of 4.5 is recommended.”
Recommended, not a hard minimum. IELTS: competitive applicants typically score at least 6.5 on each band (no overall figure). Duolingo 120 recommended. Automatic waiver after two years of English-only degree study or two years of full-time US work.
What else BU says about English tests
- Boston University's TOEFL code is 3087 (Questrom lists department code 02). (source)
- BU undergraduate admission accepts the TOEFL iBT in person or as the Home Edition, but not the IELTS Indicator, TOEFL ITP Plus or TOEFL Essentials. (source)
- BU undergraduate: an IELTS Academic overall score of 7 or higher satisfies the English requirement for all programs; the most competitive Duolingo scores are at least 125-135, and BU requires the total and all subscores. (source)
- BU undergraduate English proficiency waiver requests must be received by the application deadline with a complete application, and are decided at the Board of Admissions' discretion. (source)
- Questrom's Full-Time MBA gives an automatic TOEFL/IELTS/PTE waiver after at least two years of a bachelor's or master's degree taught solely in English, or at least two years of full-time post-bachelor's work in the US; tests are valid for two years. (source)
How the new 1 to 6 scale applies to BU
Since January 21, 2026, TOEFL iBT scores are reported in bands from 1 to 6. Each band covers a range of old scores, so the same old minimum can sit anywhere inside a band.
- For Undergraduate admission (international), BU asks for 90 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 90 falls in band 4.5 (which starts at 86; CEFR B2). BU itself publishes band 5.0, half a band or more above that, so plan for 5.0.
- For Full-Time MBA, BU asks for 90 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 90 falls in band 4.5 (which starts at 86; CEFR B2). BU itself publishes band 4.5, which matches.
| Band | Old score (from) | CEFR |
|---|---|---|
| 6.0 | 114 and above | C2 |
| 5.5 | 107 and above | C1 |
| 5.0 | 95 and above | C1 |
| 4.5 | 86 and above | B2 |
| 4.0 | 72 and above | B2 |
| 3.5 | 58 and above | B1 |
Source: ETS score scale update. This is the ETS comparison, not a university requirement. Convert your own scores with our TOEFL score converter.
What score should you aim for?
Our advice (not an official BU rule): treat the published number as a floor. Aim half a band above the minimum for your program, so for a band 5.0 requirement plan for 5.5 on your practice tests, so one weaker section on test day does not take your overall score under the line. Check section minimums too: an overall band can hide a low Speaking or Writing score.
BU compared with similar universities
| University | Program | Requirement |
|---|---|---|
| MIT | Undergraduate (first-year) admissions | band 5.0 or 90 on the old scale |
| Yale | Yale College (undergraduate) | recommended band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale |
| Cornell | Undergraduate admissions | band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale |
| Penn | Undergraduate admissions | recommended band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale |
| UC Berkeley | Undergraduate admission (international) | band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale |
All universities: TOEFL requirements by university.
Prefer a teacher? Epic Exam Prep, the team behind PrepDrills, has taught TOEFL courses since 2010, one to one or in small groups.
By Jaclyn Caruana, MBA, co-founder of Epic Exam Prep. Requirements change: always confirm on the official pages linked above before you apply.