TOEFL requirements · CMU · Checked October 27, 2026

TOEFL score for CMU 2026: requirements by program

What Carnegie Mellon University publishes about the TOEFL iBT, on the old 0 to 120 scale and the new 1 to 6 bands, with the official wording and a link to every source.

Undergraduate admission: band 5.0 or 102 on the old scale · Full-Time MBA: recommended band 5.0

Quick answer: CMU publishes these English requirements on its official pages (checked October 27, 2026). Undergraduate admission: band 5.0 or 102 on the old scale. Full-Time MBA: recommended band 5.0.

TOEFL requirements at CMU, program by program

ProgramOld scale (0 to 120)New scale (1 to 6)Section minimumsIELTSMyBestSource
Undergraduate admission1025.0Not required, but CMU gives consideration to subscores of 25+ (0-120 scale) or 5+ (1-6 scale) in each section7.5Not acceptedOfficial page
Full-Time MBANot stated5.0 (recommended)Recommended: 25 in each section (0-120 scale); 5 or above in each section (1-6 scale)7.0Not statedOfficial page

Checked on each official page on October 27, 2026. Old scale: TOEFL iBT tests taken before January 21, 2026. New scale: tests taken from that date.

Undergraduate admission

Band 5.0 or 102 on the old scale

“TOEFL iBT or iBT Home Edition : For exams taken before Jan. 21, 2026: We require at least a 102 overall score and give consideration to those with subscores of 25 and above in each section. For exams taken on or after Jan. 21, 2026: We require at least a 5 in the overall score and give consideration to those with subscores of 5 and above in each section. Carnegie Mellon's TOEFL Code is 2074 .”

Required of all nonnative English speakers. CMU uses the single sitting with the highest overall score and does not use MyBest. Home Edition is accepted. IELTS 7.5, Duolingo 135, Cambridge 191 and TOEFL Essentials 11 are also accepted.

Read it on the official page

Full-Time MBA

Recommended band 5.0

“Pro Tip: The recommended TOEFL score is 25 on each section of the Internet-based test. Reading: 25, Listening: 25, Speaking: 25, Writing: 25 Pro Tip: For the new, TOEFL iBT, we recommend at least a 5 in the overall score and subscores of 5 and above in each section.”

Recommended scores, not a hard minimum. No overall 0-120 score is stated, only 25 per section. Waived for a bachelor's or graduate degree where English was the sole language of instruction. IELTS 7 overall and in each band and Duolingo 120 are the recommended alternatives.

Read it on the official page

What else CMU says about English tests

  • CMU's TOEFL institution code is 2074 for undergraduate admission; the Tepper School uses code 2074 with the organization Carnegie Mellon University, Graduate Business Organization. (source)
  • If you take the TOEFL more than once, CMU undergraduate admission uses the set of scores from your highest overall score and does not use TOEFL MyBest scores. (source)
  • CMU undergraduate admission accepts IELTS (7.5 overall), Duolingo English Test (135 overall, 135 subscores considered), Cambridge English (191) and TOEFL Essentials (11) in place of the TOEFL iBT, and the TOEFL iBT Home Edition is accepted. (source)
  • CMU undergraduate admission asks applicants to take the TOEFL or IELTS no later than December of senior year, and scores should be no more than two years old at the time of application. (source)
  • CMU has no university-wide graduate TOEFL minimum: each graduate program manages its own admissions process, including exam requirements. (source)
  • The Tepper Full-Time MBA waives the English test if you earned a bachelor's or graduate degree where English was the sole language of instruction; TOEFL and IELTS scores must be valid when you submit the application. (source)

How the new 1 to 6 scale applies to CMU

Since January 21, 2026, TOEFL iBT scores are reported in bands from 1 to 6. Each band covers a range of old scores, so the same old minimum can sit anywhere inside a band.

  • For Undergraduate admission, CMU asks for 102 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 102 falls in band 5.0 (which starts at 95; CEFR C1). CMU itself publishes band 5.0, which matches.
BandOld score (from)CEFR
6.0114 and aboveC2
5.5107 and aboveC1
5.095 and aboveC1
4.586 and aboveB2
4.072 and aboveB2
3.558 and aboveB1

Source: ETS score scale update. This is the ETS comparison, not a university requirement. Convert your own scores with our TOEFL score converter.

What score should you aim for?

Our advice (not an official CMU rule): treat the published number as a floor. Aim half a band above the minimum for your program, so for a band 5.0 requirement plan for 5.5 on your practice tests, so one weaker section on test day does not take your overall score under the line. Check section minimums too: an overall band can hide a low Speaking or Writing score.

CMU compared with similar universities

UniversityProgramRequirement
MITUndergraduate (first-year) admissionsband 5.0 or 90 on the old scale
YaleYale College (undergraduate)recommended band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale
CornellUndergraduate admissionsband 5.0 or 100 on the old scale
PennUndergraduate admissionsrecommended band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale
UC BerkeleyUndergraduate admission (international)band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale

All universities: TOEFL requirements by university.

Prefer a teacher? Epic Exam Prep, the team behind PrepDrills, has taught TOEFL courses since 2010, one to one or in small groups.

By Jaclyn Caruana, MBA, co-founder of Epic Exam Prep. Requirements change: always confirm on the official pages linked above before you apply.

TOEFL for CMU: frequently asked questions

What TOEFL score does CMU require?

Undergraduate admission: band 5.0 or 102 on the old scale. Full-Time MBA: recommended band 5.0. Checked on the official pages on October 27, 2026.

Does CMU accept the new 1 to 6 TOEFL scores?

For Undergraduate admission, CMU publishes a minimum of band 5.0 for tests taken from January 21, 2026. For Full-Time MBA, CMU recommends band 5.0 for tests taken from January 21, 2026.

Does CMU accept TOEFL MyBest scores?

Undergraduate admission: MyBest not accepted.

Can I send IELTS instead of TOEFL to CMU?

Undergraduate admission: IELTS 7.5 is listed as an alternative. Full-Time MBA: IELTS 7.0 is listed as an alternative.

What TOEFL score should I aim for at CMU?

Our advice is to aim half a band above the published minimum. For a band 5.0 requirement, that means practicing toward 5.5.