TOEFL requirements · JHU · Checked October 27, 2026

TOEFL score for JHU 2026: requirements by program

What Johns Hopkins University publishes about the TOEFL iBT, on the old 0 to 120 scale and the new 1 to 6 bands, with the official wording and a link to every source.

Undergraduate admission: recommended band 5.0 · Carey Business School programs, including the MBA (preferred minimum): recommended 100 on the old scale

Quick answer: JHU publishes these English requirements on its official pages (checked October 27, 2026). Undergraduate admission: recommended band 5.0. Carey Business School programs, including the MBA (preferred minimum): recommended 100 on the old scale. Where a page states only an old 0 to 120 score, we show "Not stated" for the new band rather than converting it ourselves.

TOEFL requirements at JHU, program by program

ProgramOld scale (0 to 120)New scale (1 to 6)Section minimumsIELTSMyBestSource
Undergraduate admissionNot stated5.0 (recommended)Preferred (1-6 scale): Reading 5.5, Listening 5.5, Writing 5, Speaking 57.0Not statedOfficial page
Carey Business School programs, including the MBA (preferred minimum)100 (recommended)Not statedNone stated7.0Not statedOfficial page

Checked on each official page on October 27, 2026. Old scale: TOEFL iBT tests taken before January 21, 2026. New scale: tests taken from that date.

Undergraduate admission

Recommended band 5.0

“TOEFL, IELTS, the Duolingo English Test (DET), or the Cambridge English Exam are recommended if your primary language is not English, or you have not attended an English language school for the last three years. ... To be competitive, applicants should typically receive: TOEFL (iBT)- A minimum of 5 total with preferred sub-scores of 5.5 (Reading), 5.5 (Listening), 5 (Writing), and 5 (Speaking)”

Recommended, not required: 5 is the competitive benchmark on the 1-6 scale. No 0-120 score is published. IELTS figure is 7.0 or higher on each band.

Read it on the official page

Carey Business School programs, including the MBA (preferred minimum)

Recommended 100 on the old scale

“To demonstrate proficiency, international applicants must submit official scores from the TOEFL iBT (Test of English as a Foreign Language - Internet-Based Test), PTE (Pearson Test of English) scores, IELTS (International English Language Testing System), or DET (Duolingo English Test). The TOEFL code for the Johns Hopkins Carey Business School is 0834. IELTS, PTE, and DET do not require a code. The preferred minimum scores for each test are as follows: TOEFL: 100”

From the JHU 2026-27 Academic Catalogue (Carey policy); the score is a preferred minimum, and no 1-6 band score is published. Exempt with a US degree, a degree taught only in English, or four years of US employment and residence before applying.

Read it on the official page

What else JHU says about English tests

  • Send TOEFL scores for Johns Hopkins undergraduate admission to code 5332. (source)
  • JHU encourages undergraduate applicants to submit an English test if they score below 690 on SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing or below 30 on both ACT Reading and English. (source)
  • JHU undergraduate competitive benchmarks for other tests: IELTS 7.0 or higher on each band, Duolingo 120 composite (preferred subscores Literacy 125, Conversation 120, Comprehension 135, Production 105), Cambridge C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency 185. (source)
  • JHU suggests completing standardized tests by October of senior year for Early Decision and by December for Regular Decision. (source)
  • Johns Hopkins Carey Business School TOEFL code is 0834; preferred minimums are TOEFL 100, IELTS 7.0, PTE 70 and DET 130. (source)

How the new 1 to 6 scale applies to JHU

Since January 21, 2026, TOEFL iBT scores are reported in bands from 1 to 6. Each band covers a range of old scores, so the same old minimum can sit anywhere inside a band.

  • For Carey Business School programs, including the MBA (preferred minimum), JHU asks for 100 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 100 falls in band 5.0 (which starts at 95; CEFR C1). The page we checked does not state its own band, so confirm with the admissions office before relying on a new-scale score.
BandOld score (from)CEFR
6.0114 and aboveC2
5.5107 and aboveC1
5.095 and aboveC1
4.586 and aboveB2
4.072 and aboveB2
3.558 and aboveB1

Source: ETS score scale update. This is the ETS comparison, not a university requirement. Convert your own scores with our TOEFL score converter.

What score should you aim for?

Our advice (not an official JHU rule): treat the published number as a floor. Aim half a band above the minimum for your program, so for a band 5.0 requirement plan for 5.5 on your practice tests, so one weaker section on test day does not take your overall score under the line. Check section minimums too: an overall band can hide a low Speaking or Writing score.

JHU compared with similar universities

UniversityProgramRequirement
MITUndergraduate (first-year) admissionsband 5.0 or 90 on the old scale
YaleYale College (undergraduate)recommended band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale
CornellUndergraduate admissionsband 5.0 or 100 on the old scale
PennUndergraduate admissionsrecommended band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale
UC BerkeleyUndergraduate admission (international)band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale

All universities: TOEFL requirements by university.

Prefer a teacher? Epic Exam Prep, the team behind PrepDrills, has taught TOEFL courses since 2010, one to one or in small groups.

By Jaclyn Caruana, MBA, co-founder of Epic Exam Prep. Requirements change: always confirm on the official pages linked above before you apply.

TOEFL for JHU: frequently asked questions

What TOEFL score does JHU require?

Undergraduate admission: recommended band 5.0. Carey Business School programs, including the MBA (preferred minimum): recommended 100 on the old scale. Checked on the official pages on October 27, 2026.

Does JHU accept the new 1 to 6 TOEFL scores?

For Undergraduate admission, JHU recommends band 5.0 for tests taken from January 21, 2026.

Can I send IELTS instead of TOEFL to JHU?

Undergraduate admission: IELTS 7.0 is listed as an alternative. Carey Business School programs, including the MBA (preferred minimum): IELTS 7.0 is listed as an alternative.

What TOEFL score should I aim for at JHU?

Our advice is to aim half a band above the published minimum. For a band 5.0 requirement, that means practicing toward 5.5.