TOEFL requirements · UBC · Checked October 27, 2026

TOEFL score for UBC 2026: requirements by program

What University of British Columbia publishes about the TOEFL iBT, on the old 0 to 120 scale and the new 1 to 6 bands, with the official wording and a link to every source.

Undergraduate (Vancouver): band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale · Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (Vancouver, standard minimum): band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale · MBA: band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale

Quick answer: UBC publishes these English requirements on its official pages (checked October 27, 2026). Undergraduate (Vancouver): band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale. Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (Vancouver, standard minimum): band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale. MBA: band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale.

TOEFL requirements at UBC, program by program

ProgramOld scale (0 to 120)New scale (1 to 6)Section minimumsIELTSMyBestSource
Undergraduate (Vancouver)904.5Old 0-120 scale: Reading 22, Listening 22, Writing 21, Speaking 21. New 1-6 scale: Reading 4.5, Listening 5, Writing 4.5, Speaking 46.5Not statedOfficial page
Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (Vancouver, standard minimum)904.5Old 0-120 scale: Reading 22, Listening 22, Writing 21, Speaking 21. New 1-6 scale: Listening 5, Reading 4.5, Writing 4.5, Speaking 46.5Not acceptedOfficial page
MBA1005.0Old 0-120 scale: Listening 25, Reading 25, Speaking 25, Writing 25. New 1-6 scale: Listening 5.0, Reading 4.5, Speaking 4.0, Writing 4.5Not statedNot statedOfficial page

Checked on each official page on October 27, 2026. Old scale: TOEFL iBT tests taken before January 21, 2026. New scale: tests taken from that date.

Undergraduate (Vancouver)

Band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale

“TOEFL or TOEFL iBt Home Edition Test of English as a Foreign Language Internet-based test (UBC’s institution code is 0965) Internet based test (1-120): Overall score: 90 Reading: 22 Listening: 22 Writing: 21 Speaking: 21 Internet based test (1-6): Overall score: 4.5 Reading: 4.5 Listening: 5 Writing: 4.5 Speaking: 4”

Minimum scores must be achieved in a single sitting, and 2027/28 applicants must submit test scores from January 1, 2025 onwards. The new-scale Listening minimum (5) is higher than the overall 4.5. IELTS 6.5 with no part below 6.0.

Read it on the official page

Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (Vancouver, standard minimum)

Band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale

“The minimum TOEFL score required for all applicants to the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies is Tests taken prior to January 21, 2026 (1-120 scale): 90 overall with a minimum component score of 22 (reading, listening) and 21 (writing, speaking) or Tests taken as of January 21, 2026 (1-6 scale): 4.5 overall with a minimum component score of 5 (listening), 4.5 (reading, writing) and 4 (speaking) ... TOEFL MyBest composite scores are not accepted for applications to UBC-Vancouver.”

Individual programs may require more. Home Edition accepted; TOEFL ITP and Essentials not accepted. Tests must be within 24 months of application. IELTS 6.5 with at least 6.0 in each component.

Read it on the official page

MBA

Band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale

“Business Administration Master of Business Administration (MBA) Overall 5.0 Listening 5.0 Reading 4.5 Speaking 4.0 Writing 4.5 (6-point scale for tests taken as of Jan 21, 2026) ... Business Administration Master of Business Administration (MBA) Overall 100 Listening 25 Reading 25 Speaking 25 Writing 25 (120-point scale for tests taken prior to Jan 21, 2026)”

From the UBC Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies program table (quote reassembled from table cells with their column labels). Sauder's own MBA page (sauder.ubc.ca) returned 'Request blocked', so its wording and IELTS figure were not read.

Read it on the official page

What else UBC says about English tests

  • UBC's TOEFL institution code is 0965; graduate applicants pick "Graduate Organization" in Vancouver. (source)
  • UBC undergraduate documents showing you meet the English Language Admission Standard are due February 15, and minimum scores must be achieved in a single sitting. (source)
  • UBC undergraduate applicants for the 2027/2028 Winter Session must submit test scores from January 1, 2025 onwards; the Duolingo minimum is 125 overall (Reading 115, Listening 115, Writing 120, Speaking 120). (source)
  • UBC undergraduate applicants who are fully proficient but meet none of the nine routes may request an English waiver by February 15. (source)
  • UBC Vancouver graduate admissions accepts the TOEFL iBT Home Edition but not TOEFL MyBest scores, TOEFL ITP or TOEFL Essentials. (source)
  • UBC Vancouver graduate admissions will accept the Duolingo English Test for May and September 2027 admissions, with a minimum of 125 overall. (source)

How the new 1 to 6 scale applies to UBC

Since January 21, 2026, TOEFL iBT scores are reported in bands from 1 to 6. Each band covers a range of old scores, so the same old minimum can sit anywhere inside a band.

  • For Undergraduate (Vancouver), UBC asks for 90 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 90 falls in band 4.5 (which starts at 86; CEFR B2). UBC itself publishes band 4.5, which matches.
  • For Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (Vancouver, standard minimum), UBC asks for 90 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 90 falls in band 4.5 (which starts at 86; CEFR B2). UBC itself publishes band 4.5, which matches.
  • For MBA, UBC asks for 100 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 100 falls in band 5.0 (which starts at 95; CEFR C1). UBC itself publishes band 5.0, which matches.
BandOld score (from)CEFR
6.0114 and aboveC2
5.5107 and aboveC1
5.095 and aboveC1
4.586 and aboveB2
4.072 and aboveB2
3.558 and aboveB1

Source: ETS score scale update. This is the ETS comparison, not a university requirement. Convert your own scores with our TOEFL score converter.

What score should you aim for?

Our advice (not an official UBC rule): treat the published number as a floor. Aim half a band above the minimum for your program, so for a band 5.0 requirement plan for 5.5 on your practice tests, so one weaker section on test day does not take your overall score under the line. Check section minimums too: an overall band can hide a low Speaking or Writing score.

UBC compared with similar universities

UniversityProgramRequirement
U of TUndergraduateband 4.5 or 89 on the old scale
McGillUndergraduate (most faculties)band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale
MITUndergraduate (first-year) admissionsband 5.0 or 90 on the old scale

All universities: TOEFL requirements by university.

Prefer a teacher? Epic Exam Prep, the team behind PrepDrills, has taught TOEFL courses since 2010, one to one or in small groups.

By Jaclyn Caruana, MBA, co-founder of Epic Exam Prep. Requirements change: always confirm on the official pages linked above before you apply.

TOEFL for UBC: frequently asked questions

What TOEFL score does UBC require?

Undergraduate (Vancouver): band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale. Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (Vancouver, standard minimum): band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale. MBA: band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale. Checked on the official pages on October 27, 2026.

Does UBC accept the new 1 to 6 TOEFL scores?

For Undergraduate (Vancouver), UBC publishes a minimum of band 4.5 for tests taken from January 21, 2026. For Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (Vancouver, standard minimum), UBC publishes a minimum of band 4.5 for tests taken from January 21, 2026. For MBA, UBC publishes a minimum of band 5.0 for tests taken from January 21, 2026.

Does UBC accept TOEFL MyBest scores?

Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (Vancouver, standard minimum): MyBest not accepted.

Can I send IELTS instead of TOEFL to UBC?

Undergraduate (Vancouver): IELTS 6.5 is listed as an alternative. Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (Vancouver, standard minimum): IELTS 6.5 is listed as an alternative.

What TOEFL score should I aim for at UBC?

Our advice is to aim half a band above the published minimum. For a band 5.0 requirement, that means practicing toward 5.5.