TOEFL requirements · UChicago · Checked October 27, 2026

TOEFL score for UChicago 2026: requirements by program

What University of Chicago publishes about the TOEFL iBT, on the old 0 to 120 scale and the new 1 to 6 bands, with the official wording and a link to every source.

Undergraduate admission (the College): no TOEFL required · Graduate schools and divisions (university-wide policy): no minimum score · Full-Time MBA: band 5.0 or 104 on the old scale

Quick answer: UChicago publishes these English requirements on its official pages (checked October 27, 2026). Undergraduate admission (the College): no TOEFL required. Graduate schools and divisions (university-wide policy): no minimum score. Full-Time MBA: band 5.0 or 104 on the old scale.

TOEFL requirements at UChicago, program by program

ProgramOld scale (0 to 120)New scale (1 to 6)Section minimumsIELTSMyBestSource
Undergraduate admission (the College)Not requiredNot requiredNone statedNot statedNot statedOfficial page
Graduate schools and divisions (university-wide policy)No minimumNot statedNone statedNot statedNot statedOfficial page
Full-Time MBA1045.0None stated7.0Not statedOfficial page

Checked on each official page on October 27, 2026. Old scale: TOEFL iBT tests taken before January 21, 2026. New scale: tests taken from that date.

Undergraduate admission (the College)

No TOEFL required

“Students are invited to submit scores from any English proficiency examination they believe represents their English language ability. If you feel as though mastery of the English language is already represented throughout your application, you are not required to submit formal exam scores.”

An English test is optional and no minimum score is published. Students who submit scores may self-report them; official reports are needed only if admitted and enrolling.

Read it on the official page

Graduate schools and divisions (university-wide policy)

No minimum score

“Applicants to the graduate schools and divisions of the University of Chicago, regardless of citizenship, must either meet one of our waiver criteria (below) or submit proof of English language proficiency. This policy applies to all* graduate programs; the score level required for admission varies by program. Only the TOEFL iBT or IELTS Academic tests are accepted as proof of proficiency.”

A test is required unless a waiver applies, but the score needed is set by each program. Duolingo and other tests are not accepted. The policy does not cover Booth, the Law School, Pritzker, the MA in Economics or the Advanced Scholars Program.

Read it on the official page

Full-Time MBA

Band 5.0 or 104 on the old scale

“TOEFL (on/post January 21, 2026) Minimum score 5.0 TOEFL (pre January 21, 2026) Paper Test 600 Internet-based test (iBT) 104 IELTS Minimum score 7 ... Applicants who score below the minimum may still apply, but admission is contingent upon demonstrated English proficiency during the admissions interview if the candidate is invited to interview, or upon other language requirements.”

Below-minimum applicants may still apply, but admission then depends on showing English proficiency in the interview. Scores are valid for two years; TOEFL code 1832-02; PTE 70 and Duolingo 135 are also listed.

Read it on the official page

What else UChicago says about English tests

  • UChicago College applicants are not required to submit an English test if their mastery of English is already shown in the application, and those who submit may self-report scores. (source)
  • TOEFL institution codes: 1832 for the University of Chicago (excluding business programs), 1832-02 for the Booth MBA and 1819 for the Booth PhD. (source)
  • UChicago graduate programs accept only the TOEFL iBT (including the at-home test) or IELTS Academic; Duolingo, IELTS Indicator, TOEFL ITP Plus and other tests are not accepted. (source)
  • UChicago graduate waivers: English as a primary language since childhood, or at least one full academic year in the last ten years as a full-time degree student at an English-medium institution in a listed country (for example the US, UK, Canada, Australia, Singapore or Hong Kong). (source)
  • UChicago graduate TOEFL and IELTS scores are valid for two years and expire if the test was taken more than two years before the application deadline. (source)
  • Chicago Booth's Full-Time MBA also lists minimums of IELTS 7, PTE Academic 70 and Duolingo 135, and scores are valid for two years. (source)

How the new 1 to 6 scale applies to UChicago

Since January 21, 2026, TOEFL iBT scores are reported in bands from 1 to 6. Each band covers a range of old scores, so the same old minimum can sit anywhere inside a band.

  • For Full-Time MBA, UChicago asks for 104 on the old scale. On the ETS comparison, 104 falls in band 5.0 (which starts at 95; CEFR C1). UChicago itself publishes band 5.0, which matches.
BandOld score (from)CEFR
6.0114 and aboveC2
5.5107 and aboveC1
5.095 and aboveC1
4.586 and aboveB2
4.072 and aboveB2
3.558 and aboveB1

Source: ETS score scale update. This is the ETS comparison, not a university requirement. Convert your own scores with our TOEFL score converter.

What score should you aim for?

Our advice (not an official UChicago rule): treat the published number as a floor. Aim half a band above the minimum for your program, so for a band 5.0 requirement plan for 5.5 on your practice tests, so one weaker section on test day does not take your overall score under the line. Check section minimums too: an overall band can hide a low Speaking or Writing score.

UChicago compared with similar universities

UniversityProgramRequirement
MITUndergraduate (first-year) admissionsband 5.0 or 90 on the old scale
YaleYale College (undergraduate)recommended band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale
CornellUndergraduate admissionsband 5.0 or 100 on the old scale
PennUndergraduate admissionsrecommended band 5.0 or 100 on the old scale
UC BerkeleyUndergraduate admission (international)band 4.5 or 90 on the old scale

All universities: TOEFL requirements by university.

Prefer a teacher? Epic Exam Prep, the team behind PrepDrills, has taught TOEFL courses since 2010, one to one or in small groups.

By Jaclyn Caruana, MBA, co-founder of Epic Exam Prep. Requirements change: always confirm on the official pages linked above before you apply.

TOEFL for UChicago: frequently asked questions

What TOEFL score does UChicago require?

Undergraduate admission (the College): no TOEFL required. Graduate schools and divisions (university-wide policy): no minimum score. Full-Time MBA: band 5.0 or 104 on the old scale. Checked on the official pages on October 27, 2026.

Does UChicago accept the new 1 to 6 TOEFL scores?

For Full-Time MBA, UChicago publishes a minimum of band 5.0 for tests taken from January 21, 2026.

Can I send IELTS instead of TOEFL to UChicago?

Full-Time MBA: IELTS 7.0 is listed as an alternative.

What TOEFL score should I aim for at UChicago?

Our advice is to aim half a band above the published minimum. For a band 5.0 requirement, that means practicing toward 5.5.